I'm goofing off in my free time...

JsARCLIGHT

Hey gang,

Work has been slow in this post christmas period (as it always is at my office) so between the wining and dining of clients to try and eek some second quarter cash out of them I've been finally getting around to actually making that new CG valkyrie that I've been putting off for years.

I must say that I am not a pro CG person, my skills are in 2D layout and line work so my models are all very low poly and mainly rely on texture/shader/lighting to work... hence most of you CG pros will see these renders and think they were made by someone wil no CG skills. Because they basically are... I learned power animator back in the '90s in college and that was about it, in the mean time I have picked up rudimentary Maya skills due to the number of people at work that use the software.

I know my stuff is not that good compared to other people's things and what is out there on the market so I'm not looking for critiques or praise, I just want to post my renders and be counted as one of the several Macross World CG neophites building a valkyrie.

I'm also a retard... everyone else starts with the actual valkyrie, usually the cockpit... I started with the FAST packs. I just like FAST packs, what can I say? I'm also making my model to be fully rigged and animateable... and it is also being made in bizzarro JsARCLIGHT world, which means the looks may be similair but the end product will be very different... I'm basically "personalizing" the super Valkyrie to my own tastes, adding things and removing other things in the design.

Oh well, enough talk. Here is the first piece of the puzzle: the FAST pack booster pods. I'll keep building and adding to this thread if there is interest... if not then I'll just keep to myself because there are lots of other CGers on here that have much better skills than I.

post-5-1073440300_thumb.jpg