Would the VF-1's airbrake work?

Well, obviously, it's a fictional item. But I was hoping to get some practical insight into its practicality, maybe from David Hingtgen or one of the other avation experts around here.

I'm no aviation expert, but I think I saw real fighters that have that part up there which I dubbed "air-brakes" though I'm not sure if they really are air brakes.

This might work for contemporary aircrafts. As for the VF-1 itself, I doubt it! I mean, C'mon, the VF-1 uses a microfusion engine/reactor!. I think everyone would agree that this is too much power for that particular "airbrake".

air brake is to reduce speed by increasing air friction. in real life i am sure it would be larger. but if you look at a vf-1 real good it would not need to be very big. there are lots of things that can be used to slow the plane down. 1st thing i think of is the tail section can raise up and that would do the same function. you also have the doors on the rear landing gears to slow things down. as a matter of fact planes slow down a lot when the landing gears are lowered.

It's all about the deployment angle. The orginal F-15's had much smaller airbrakes, that deployed to a more extreme angle. But it caused lots of buffeting and affected the trim a bit. So they redesigned it (Block 15 I think) and almost all other F-15's have the much larger airbrake that deploys to a more shallow angle, to get the same braking without the bad aerodynamic effects. Almost all other jets have smaller brakes that deploy to a more extreme angle--F-14/16/18. The Tornado has a similar situation to the F-15: very large brakes that deploy at a shallow angle.

The king of airbrakes however, is the F-8. It could slow the thing down in a vertical dive. Drag of the airbrake when fully deployed has always looked to me like it is equal to the entire rest of the plane!