Display Cabinet Lighting

Guppy

Firstly, excuse bad pun in topic description. :rolleyes:

I bougth myself a second cabinet, and now it's all set up in a semi dark room, the tinting I didn't notice when buying it makes seeing the toys rather difficult when the room loses light as the sun goes down. So rather than go to a glass place and get 4 new doors which would cost more that I paid for the cabinet, I'm thinking about lighting it from inside.

Now my question is, what types of lights emit the least plastic-yellowing UV? I have heard that halogens emit less than fluroescent as they have a narrower spectrum of UV. And if halogens are the best, I guess I should just go for the least wattage available?

And is there any kind of filters you can put over the lights to decrease UV more?

I'm no expert, but I was going to look into this for my cabinet. Polarising filters? Those made by the company 3M? Although I think that they make UV resistant films.

See if you can cannabilise one of those camera ones and stick them on. :lol:

black light. The white toys look nice :rolleyes:

yeah... youv'e seen a valkyrie... but have you seen one on WEED? :rolleyes::lol:

actually any fish tank light with proper bulb... IE a fishtank bulb in a flourecent fixture, should do nicely. Just make sure you don't buy a HEAT or FULL-SPECTRUM bulb. Heck... find a full spectrum a few years old and you will still be ok, though your reptiles wouldn't be. COme to think of it... I have a few bulbs that still work but are well past being full spectrum enough for my turtles... pay for shipping and you can have them.

good ideas there! thanks!

Kanata: thanks for the ncie offer! I'm in Australia so I reckon I can scrounge a few ones here.

Kensei: I'll ask one of my friends who's a cameraman about polarizing filters. If it's good I can grab some off him for free. I'll send you some too! :)

Looks like LED lights might be the winner! Safe on your toys, plus they consume a lot less energy.