household alternatives to paint thinner

skull_leader_v1

I've been using methylated spirits for the last five years. Works brilliantly with acrylics. Never tried isopropyl, but it'd probably dry faster than metho but cost a lot more.e

Mineral turpentine for enamels is ok but white spirits (low odour/faster drying) is better than the turps.

Yeah, I've used Windex to remove Acylic paint, works pretty well, so Iguess it'd work as a thinner. For enamel paints I've had success thinning with using lighter fluid in a pinch, as for Lacquer Paints I've heard of folks using brake-fluid to strip Lacquer based paints off of kits - but that stuff is pretty toxic so I wouldn't suggest trying to use it as a thinner. Hope that helps some.

I've used Windex for cleaning my airbrush, but I don't know that it'd be good to mix with paints; it's got that blue tint.

Isopropyl (rubbing) alcohol works very well for cleaning or removing paint. If somebody else claims that it's a good thinner for spraying, I'd believe it.

Though really, the best stuff to mix with if you're spraying is probably the Tamiya thinner. I know you're looking to save money, but every time I skimp on something like this I end up wishing I'd spent the extra couple of bucks to get the result I wanted.

You don't want to use Windex! It contains Amonia, which dissolves Acrylic paints. Isopropyl alcohol is the main ingredient in things like Tamiya thinner. Sometimes I wonder if they add small quantities of other chemicals to the thinner that improve the consistency of the paint.

I use Isopropyl like it's going outa style! I prep my surfaces with it, thin with it, and clean with it. I only use the 70% stuff, not the hardcore 90-100%. I've only used it on flats, not gloss. It dries quite quickly, so may dim glosses. Always test on scrap plastic card or a yoghurt cup (cleaned). Don't botch up a work of art! - MT