Analyzing 'Military Divisions'

grebo guru

Greetings all,

I'm no newbie to Macross (been following it since it started), but there are some rather specific technical issues I've been wondering about. See, I plan on running a Macross game sometime soon and so there are several Macross details I'm looking to learn more about.

(For those who are curious, I'll be using R. Talsorian Games' "Mekton Z" system rather than Palladium, which I find unsuitable. I wrote up specs for the Macross Plus VFs which were printed in an issue of V.Max magazine back in the '90s. They represent the kind of stats I plan on using.)

Anyway, here's one of my questions. If the subject(s) I bring up were discussed/answered in previous threads, I'd appreciate it if someone would point me to them. And if any of these matters have not been covered, I'd be thrilled by a discussion. Thanks!

Military Divisions

In Gundam, the Earth Federation's military forces have only two divisions -- EFSF (Earth Federation Space Force) and EFM (Earth Federation Military -- I think). Basically, the terrestrial military and the space military. No Air Force, no Navy, no Marines, no Army; all that falls under the terrestrial EFM. In Macross, there's UN Spacy which is obviously the space forces, and there's... uh... what? Is there a UN Air Force, UN Army, UN Marines, and UN Navy? If so, do these branches exist only on Earth, or on every planet? I know that in Macross II UN Spacy was the entire military and even, effectively, the government. But in "prime" Macross, I'm unclear on the divisions. It seemed to me at least aboard the SDF-1 Macross, there were two divisions: UN Spacy (primarily VF forces) and the Defense Force (primarily Destroids). Is that how it works?

Thanks in advance for your input, everyone!

Grebo