Analyzing 'Space Folds'

grebo guru

Greetings all,

I'm no newbie to Macross (been following it since it started), but there are some rather specific technical issues I've been wondering about. See, I plan on running a Macross game sometime soon and so there are several Macross details I'm looking to learn more about.

(For those who are curious, I'll be using R. Talsorian Games' "Mekton Z" system rather than Palladium, which I find unsuitable. I wrote up specs for the Macross Plus VFs which were printed in an issue of V.Max magazine back in the '90s. They represent the kind of stats I plan on using.)

Anyway, here's one of my questions. If the subject(s) I bring up were discussed/answered in previous threads, I'd appreciate it if someone would point me to them. And if any of these matters have not been covered, I'd be thrilled by a discussion. Thanks!

Space Folds

In the TV series I got the impression that a space fold is instantaneous -- one moment you're at you're departure point, the next moment you're at your destination. Transit time would seem to be limited only to getting out of any obstructive gravity well. However, in later shows it seems like there is travel time in "foldspace" (or hyperspace, or subspace, or the bleed, or whatever you want to call it) as is the case in many sci-fi shows. Which is correct? And, if there is travel time in foldspace, are there any specifics which can be cited? Like, 1 minute per light year, or 1 hour per light year, or something like that?

Thanks in advance for your input, everyone!

Grebo

Please try to avoid starting topics with nearly identical headers in a relative short amount of time. It does looks like your spamming the board. Also, please remember to use the newbie thread (even if your not a newbie) to find answers to common/short questions.

http://macross.anime.net//story/encycloped...fold/index.html

In the TV series I got the impression that a space fold is instantaneous