Votoms Resurrection

Sage58

Morning all. To long time MWers, you may remember Sage58. I was very active in the old forums; however, I graduated from college right around the time the new BBS was created, and as much as I love "Macross," getting a job and the real world kept me away.

I'm posting today because I'm oldschool mecha jazzed. Central Park Media's just announced they're releasing all of Armored Trooper VOTOMS in a big metal box and are taking pre-orders AnimEigo-style. Memories of the "Macross" preorder, anyone? But unlike having to count my pennies for "Macross," Central Park Media is making VOTOMS available for only $99. Having a job also helps not having to count change. All the details are here...

http://www.centralparkmedia.com/votoms/preorderinfo.cfm

"SDF-1 Macross" remains my favorite anime, but VOTOMS (and her beautifully utilitarian Scopedogs) has always ranked pretty high on my list. Any other VOTOMS fans out there?

As far as money goes, you won't be charged until the first volume ships in march. Though if worse comes to worse, there will be individual retail releases, and a full box release after everything is out. This is just a chance to get the individual's as they come out, and the last vol will ship with a box.

I've really bad memories of the Z Gundam boxset: I'll wait to get some feedback onto the quality of the product before ordering anything...

349092[/snapback]

If you have any concerns, I'd recommend checking out the thread on AnimeOnDVD, CPM's marketing rep Peter Tatara is answering any questions people have about the VOTOMS release.

As for me, I preordered yesterday :)

Interesting... I had no idea there was a new DVD release of Votoms coming. Soft subs and improved video? Sounds pretty good...

(Of course, I already picked up the whole series a while back, the bargains available on the old DVDs were pretty good - though still not as good as $100 for the whole series...)

It's really a great show. Chirico is the f'n man.