Biology question

Hi guys,

As some of you know I work in the comics industry.

Right now I'm working a new science fiction script. I stumbled with a technical problem and I know that we have a lot of well informed people in aerospace and whatnot on these boards.

I know the question may seem stupid for some, so please be sensitive about my ignorance and don't make a scandal okay?

Let's say you're on a terraformed planet. You have rain, you have dirt, you have a sun, but the ecosystem itself is engineered, which means there are no animals, only engineered plants and bacteria, the basics to create and maintain at breathable atmosphere. If this was possible and your buddy died, would he decompose without maggots? Where do maggots come from? Do they appear spontaneously on a decomposing organism?

Thanks in advance for checking out this thread. I f you don't have the answer, but know somebody who might, please ask her or him.

maggots are fly larvae, like catterpillars are butterflies.

bodies decompose over time unless they are preserved like mummies. think about dinosaurs that are buried in the dirt, over time only the fossilized bones are left.

Decomposition would still probably happen, though somewhat differently.

The afformentioned bacteria (needed for the fertilisation process) will probably also breakdown/consume a corpse, since it's organic material.

An ecosystem without such a robust decomposition capacity will not function properly, because it at least needs to reprocess dead plants.

P.S.

I'm no biology major or eco-system expert, so I'm just reasoning based on my limited knowledge on the subject thanks to exposure to National Geographic Channel and Discovery Channel. ;)