Model/gunpla Hobby Mags

Spatula

Howdy folks, :)

Right now, much of my focus for modeling is based around mecha/scifi/anime type stuff. I find I've a greater liberty and freedom to not be constrained to make it look like an EXACT replica of perhaps a M1 Abraham Tank or a British Spitfire.

Perhaps that's what attracts me to Bandai's massive monopoly of the Gundam franchaise and Hasegawa's production of their Valkyries.

I will eventually start to work on modern day fighter jets and such, but now I'm in the experimenting stage and I'm still a total newb to most of the modeling world.

I'm thinking of getting some good Gundam Modelling/Gunpla books from HLJ, as well as the Tenjin's Valkyrie Illustration book found here:

http://www.hlj.com/product/KOB90124

What is your guys' opinion of say... the Hobby Japan zashi/magazines pretty much going through Gunpla. Are they worth the hefty price that you pay from the import book store?

Are most of the illustrations easy to follow for the non-Japanese language modeler? I do understand some basic phrases and sentence structure in hiragana and katakana, however most of the actions and verbs have kanji roots which I don't want to touch with a 10 foot pole, yet.

Other books I'm considering ordering off HLJ:

http://www.hlj.com/product/MDW22483

http://www.hlj.com/product/HBJ25283

http://www.hlj.com/product/MDW23079

Also, what modeling books in English do you recommend and about how much are these?

I hear that Fine Scale Modeler is a good start. :D

Edited by Spatula

Those books look pretty interesting and not too expensive either. I've always liked the pictures and the impressive models in the Japanese hobby magazines, but I still haven't been able to bring myself to pay that much for something I won't be able to read cover to cover. :p