Using Primer as paint

Deadzone

I was wondering what would be the problems of using a primer as the paint if the primer is already the color you want. For example, I just primed a VF-1A with white. I started painting over some parts with a Tamiya white, but the parts look virtually identical. The only difference is the gloss which I can put on later using Future. Is there a need to repaint a model white if the primer is already white. I wanted to know if anybody has tried just using the primer as the base coat and the paint. Thanks.

no problems using primer as paint, as long as you know the differences between primer and paint. One of the reasons I recomend primer is that you don't have to paint everything. What I mean by this, using my violator valk as an example, is... if you diss-assemble a toy, or leave a model on spruce, when you prime it... many of the impossible to paint areas are already an acceptible color. For me I had to use black primer on the violator valk so that the bright whiteness of the jetfire was no longer visible. I tried to do it with painting and patience, but there was no way I could satisfactorally paint recessed ares like the insides of the legs [visible only when landing gear is down] using only a brush. Spray primer of an appropriate color makes hard to see areas look much better in my opinion.

The only thing I can think to tell you is... primer and paint are different in how they react to additional paint applied to them. You may not ever notice the difference, but if you are inking/washing a model/toy, the ink will flow over painted areas slightly better as the primered areas tend to absorb a little more [it is why primer works as primer.]

Here is a pic of a 7" tomahawk I did a little while ago. It's since been finished and pics are probably somewhere around here but when this pic was taken it was as follows...