semi transparent white?

IIymij

<_< hey everyone i know i dont post a lot in these forums but i do read almost everything in this section in particualry and i was wonder if anybody knew how to have a semi transparent white color? kind of like a white filter i do not own an airbrush but use old style paint brushes to do my modeling. i tried adding water to my white paint but the consistency of the white was just terrible.

anybody got any ideas? or maybe ive gone and confused everyone again.... <_<

I've had some bad experiences with Tamiya Flat Base. Brush it on, and it turns powdery white (rubs off on your finger, too!). You could try that. Or use Future Floor Wax or Tamiya Clear in your white.

Failing that, break out the DullCote and don't let go of that spray nozzle.

• 4 weeks later...
I've had some bad experiences with Tamiya Flat Base. Brush it on, and it turns powdery white (rubs off on your finger, too!). You could try that. Or use Future Floor Wax or Tamiya Clear in your white.

Failing that, break out the DullCote and don't let go of that spray nozzle.

Never mix Tamiya white with Future!!! I did it and get some nasty particles.

Maybe Tamiya clear + tamiya white would do the trick.

Tamiya Flat base is only meant to be mixed in with the paint, not applied as a top coat. That's probably why you had problems with it, Terrence. Personally, anything I paint in Tamiya gets a blast of good old DullCote. It gives me some of the flattest finishes I've seen.

As for a semi transparent white finish, I'd try mixing Gunze white and one their clears. IIRC, it was how I painted the "dome" on the head of an old AMT Alien figure, and it worked like a charm.

Edited by bsu legato

thanks for the input guys ^^ i was tinking of buying one of those clear blue hasegawa valks and then having semi transparent white for Max's tv valkyrie

bsu legato - do you have a picture of your model you tried it on?

again much appreicated guys =D