Star Wars Republic Commando squad

Hi all,

This is going to be a a photo work blog for a comission I received for a pair of Clone Trooper squads repainted in the Republic Commando team scheme from the video game. One set of 4 will be parade clean, and the other will be in action weathered and beat up looking. The customer asked if I would do a WIP blog as I worked through the sets, and I thought this was a neat idea, and something I've never done before, so this is gonna be a learning experience for all of us :lol:

I asked the customer for an extra generic trooper figure so I could test techniques and the checmical reactions of all the paints and such... sometimes softer plastic figures react funny to paint, but I've gotten some advice on what to use to prevent this, so this first guy will be my test bed figure... a second generic was also provided, and both will be finished up as extra detailed generics for the customer.

First two pics just show my first vic...er volunteer! All that's happened in this pic is that I used some files and sandpaper to clean up mold seams on the figure, and get to know the sculpt.

The second pair of pics show our hapless trooper after primer and a basecoat... there's a few spots to touch up with a brush, and I need to get more canned air, but this is the base color I whipped up, and made enough for all the figures I recieved (and maybe more). Right now the base color looks a bit dark and grey, but this allows me to build up the white color a bit and add some depth, and then I can work from there... the tonal value of the figure will change as I work thru the weathering and such as well, and since I want to test all of the products I'll be using, this first guy will get plenty beat up.