Looking for feedback on new project idea.

Greyryder

Let me know how this sounds to you guys. I've never done any real toy modding, before. All advice is welcome.

I'm looking to do a minor rebuild on a Banpresto (dont look at me in that tone of voice) Super Valk. I'd like to improve it's apearence a bit, and make it a little less likely to fall apart when it's being hadled.

Aside from a repaint, and tightening up some of the joints, I've already decided to replace the shoulder boxes. They'll more securely trap the ball joints, and I'll probably screw the back plate on them so I can tighten the joints up if need be, later on. I already have a pretty good idea of how I want to do this. I might even be able to simply modify the existing shoulders, but I'd like to have a backup, incase my experiments fail. scavenging parts from my CF is not an option.

I've already gotten the arm armor to stay on, and I'll tweak that a bit, before I'm finished. I'll also be improving the missle detail on the arm armor. I've modified the heat sheild so that it actually stays on. Still needs work, though.

I'm also thinking of doing away with the swing arms. I already want to correct the underside of the nose section, and was thinking of making it swing open to place a "pelvis" that would run between the hips into it. The idea was to run brass rod, and tubing between the hip ball joints, and have it be trapped inside the nose cone, in batroid form. The legs would have to be removed from the Valk to reposition them during transformation, but that doesn't bother me. My thought was to use a small brass hinge (as hidden as possible) in front of where the head sits in fighter and gerwalk modes. I'd like to use a similar hinge on the upper back panel.

Everything else I want to do is minor tweaks of the existing mechanism, and making removable landing gear that work with or without the FAST packs.