Giving model kits a try

Ltee

Hey all,

Loved some of the models you guys have made and decided to start a new hobby making macross kits(besides collecting the toys) I've started out with the a.r. II 1/100th vf-1s model which I think is a pretty good model for a total newb to start with. Anyways a few questions if you all don't mind....

As I've been breaking the pieces off the plastic tree thingy I notice there are stubs at the end of the pieces how do I go about removing this?

This model I think will require some glue to keep everything together will any super glue work? Is there a good way to apply this? (not sure how I'm supposed to put glue to keep the canopy of the cockpit on without making it look terrible)

Paint I've been reading, but painting itself I have no clue as to how to apply. Do I just use a brush? Marker? q-tip??? (don't laugh just a thought)

I've been looking for a good magazine to keep me up to dates with models/techniques/etc. any good ones? I saw some japanese ones...but i cant read japanese at the moment.

I've also been looking for the hasegawa models that I've seen like the yf-19 battroid and other mecha types but I've been unsuccessful finding these any places you guys know of?

Lastly, once I finish this model I'd like to go on to something a bit more challenging what kind of model/brand do I go to next? (I'd prefer making either the fighter model or battroid)

Thanx all I hope to be posting more with other newb questions.

Check out the site:

www.aircraftresourcecenter.com There's lots & lots of techniques in their technique section pertaining to aircraft modeling which are great for macross models.

Other than that I can think of cody's groove, which has a section on making the strike valk and bunch of other anime modeling in great detail.

To save some $$, get through these sites and they should give you a good start.

The american magazine, fine scale modeler is not too bad. Check out their web site first.