Little bit of painting help needed

Eazy D

This may not be related to macross but I thought some of the ppl who do mods and modelling here could help me out since I'm a complete baby at this stuff.

This probably should be in the transformers thread but I wanted the modellers to see it..... :D

I want to paint the gun on my MP 01 prime from grey to black and I wanted some tips on

1) what paint to use to get a really good effect and make it look authentic

2) how to prevent the paint from getting on the silver and blue bits (which I want to leave as they are). If I use a brush I'm scared that I'll either accidently overshoot the margin or be too cautious and wont paint far enough to the margin

I know this request is pretty stupid but I'm a novice and I really don't want to f*** the gun up..

Thanks

Dave

You would probably get the best and most durable finish by using the Krylon fusion brand of spraypaint. It bonds with the plastic and becomes very scratch resistant. The best way to protect the silver and blue areas will be to mask them with a good masking tape. You can cut the masking tape to the exact size and shape you need with an exacto knife.(very sharp!!) Then spray the Fusion paint and let it dry to the touch, but not too long. Then carefully remove the masking tape and let the paint finish curing for several days before handling it. That will let it set to a very scratch resistant finish.

It would be a good idea to practice the masking and painting on something before trying it on your important piece. Empty 2 liter soda bottles are good to practice with. A can of the Fusion spray paint will give you plenty to practice a few times and then finish the gun.

Good luck!

Jardann's right - if you are just doing a bit of painting go with spraypaint. If I was doing it, I would go for an acrylic matte finish. I like acrylic better than enamel, but enamel is more durable but it's oil based so can be messy.