MW Martial Artists

Mechamaniac

So, with all the Japan aficionados we have here, I imagine that many of us must be studying one martial arts form or another.

Too many types and schools to make this a poll, so how about listing them straight up?

As for me, I never got much into the hand to hand stuff, so mine are....

Iaido - Kendo Renmei Sei Te Gata

Kendo - Natural progression of swinging my sword at nothing for hours on end :lol:

Any belts yet??

Okinawan Shorei ryu here, but only Brown Belt First Degree.

At my uni we have kyuudo which is Archery with old-school yumis. Hard as heck if you're used to easy to use western hunting bows that actually have...er.. a grip :p

Funny thing is... the university I'm at has a Tae kwon do club but not a Karate club... kinda weird for a Japanese University you'd think...

Edited by Duymon

I studied Aikido, but stopped only because it was getting expensive.

That's the best thing about where I study.

It is run the traditional way, no contracts, no 60 dollars a month, no snakeoil salesmen teaching out of a book. We go once a week, and pay a mat fee since we are using someone else's dojo. Basically, we contribute for the use of the dojo, and the electicity, but if you don't go, you don't pay.

I would never sign a contract to learn martial arts, that's not the way it is done in Japan, and it has become too much of a ripoff industry here in the states.

Southern Shaolin with wushu foundations. I got there half way( blue belt)

Hapkido; blue belt green stripe. Again over half way gone

It sucks to have to quit a job for a better pay and then give up everything else that follows along..

At least I have some of the tumbling and acrobatics to keep in relative shape.

Hope one day to continue wushu...If the body allows it