1/72 Hasegawa VF-1S Valkyrie - I finally completed it

Vifam7

I did it. I finally completed my 1/72 Hasegawa VF-1S.

This is a kit that I started 7 or 8 years ago.  When I first started on this build, I had a number of Gundam kits and ancient Arii 1/100 VF-1S fighter kit under my belt.  Thus, I was feeling somewhat confident in being able to take on a Hasegawa kit.  Initially, it went well.  I got up to a point where the forward fuselage, main body, and legs were put together.  But then I started painting some of the built up sub-assemblies and noticed areas that needed more filling and sanding. In addition, I messed up with the painting.  The attempt to strip the paint off did not go well and so I started a 2nd Hasegawa VF-1 kit. After building another forward fuselage and pair of legs again, I got tired and completely lost interest in completing the kit.  What was done was boxed up and put on the shelf with a promise to come back to it sometime in the future.

Then, last year,  Calibre Wings announced a diecast version of the VF-1 in 1/72 scale. With that in mind, I decided that I wanted to finish the Hasegawa kit so that I can put it next to the Calibre Wings model and compare them.  I pulled out that 2nd kit that I started and began work.  And now it is completed!

20190812_013526-L.jpg

Over the years, I've gained some skills in kit building but it's still not anywhere near what others on this board can accomplish.

I painted the main body with Tamiya AS-16 USAF light gray.  Instead of using the supplied decals, the black on the tail and both colors on the ventral fins were painted. The black trim stripes on the rear engine section (ie. the legs) were also painted .