Adding Electronics to our Models

NZEOD

After talking to a couple of other members about this, I've decided to make a thread for dumping all our ideas and techniques for making our models move, light up and make sounds.

Use this thread for anyone with ideas and links to gear, projects and programming.

My background is as an Army Ammunition Technician and IEDD Operator. I worked on and operated the REMOTEC Andros among other duties. So messing with gadgets and things I shouldnt are second nature.

I also Fly Gliders and compete in FMX on a Husqvarna CR125, Street Stunt on a Triumph 675, Motox on a Husqvarna TC250 and MTB, Snowboarding, Kite surfing and anything likely to result in pain and dismemberment.

As such I have messed around alot with cameras and remotes and ways of mounting them, making them move and track a target etc.

So this leads me to here and wanting to making my destroids move and track a person around a room with their gun barrels.

I have a Tomahawk with light up beam cannons and spot light and a servo in the body to swing it round. The Defenders have the same with both spotlights lighting up and the body swinging. They also have a rotating radar and arms that raise. One is a Defender XV and have PE Brass 6 barrel cannons with also spin at 1000rpm. The Phalanx has a servo in the body and one in each arm and 3 LEDs in the spotlight tower.

The Valks in fighter mode have LEDs in the engines and beam cannons and one is getting a backpack lit up mid explosion (current project).

All this is powered and controlled off Adafruits Trinket 5V and Trinket Pro Adruino boards and cheap $16 Micro servos, Neopixel LEDs and , thanks to MECHTECH, some insanely tiny gearbox motors for the gatling guns! The diameter of a pencil.

Over the next few weeks I'll load up links, examples and programs (called sketches) for making things move and light up yourselves.