The Real World capabilities of a VF-1 Valkyrie

Been a Macross/ Robotech fan since I was a child, I entered the US Air Force right after High School and became a Crew Chief (Aircraft Maintenance Technician) This brought me into a crash course in Aerospace Engineering. Now I am not a Aerospace Engineer, however the VF-1 Valkyrie has two very big flaws. Wing Surface area, and total lack of elevators. (Not going to get into the insanity of the transformation of the leg hand off system)