How do you eliminate brush strokes?

Vifam7

I've read all sorts of things on how to prevent brush strokes when painting but I'm still somewhat confused.

Generally the more layers I put on the less obvious the brush strokes.. correct?

Even though I use acrylics it's better to thin it down... correct?

I started painting more parts but it's brush strokes galore. Granted it's only the first layer.

Any further tips appreciated.

I find acrylics to be far better for preventing brush strokes, but it still varies brand-by-brand. I like Pollyscale the best by far followed by Testor's Acryl.

Also--thinner's better, but don't go so thin it dries before it self-levels.

Tried flow-aid? Hunt it down, it helps. http://www.liquitex.com/Products/addflowaid.cfm Found mine at a Dick Blick, but any art store etc should have it. Works for both brushing and spraying. Does reduce opacity just a tad. But 3 good coats looks a lot better than 2 "ok" coats.

SOFT brush. LONG bristles. Minimal strokes (match brush size to area being painted). Assume 10 sec working time.

Long straight strokes with a wide brush make for a smooth job.

Do not go over the same spot more than a couple of times. As the paint congeals it becomes streakier.

Thanks everyone for the advice. Looks like I need to thin my paints a bit before application. I got some terrible streaks on my parts. I guess I'll try to cover it up with the next few layers.

Which is better for Vallejo acrylics? Thinning with water or thinning with thinner?

Thinners works for me but some use water but the best thinning agent would be what the Manufacturer of the paint suggests. You can use ISO alcohol with most acrylics. Mostly it can be down to your personal preference at the end of the day.

To avoid brush strokes: