Scratchbuilding Oberth

honneamise

I´m planning to scratch build an Oberth Class ship as a project for the next few months. Just based on the sketches/plans in Perfect Memory with some additional paneling and small details to get a better feel of the size of the "real" thing. But this is where I start wondering just how big is this ship??

UN SPACY Database and some other sources say it is 215m in length while some Robo****-sites claim it is 390m. I´d say I dont´t believe in Roboyouknowwhat and go for the 215m, but If you check the Perfect Memory Cover there are four ships depicted, Oberth, ARMD, Prometheus and Deadalus. Assuming these are the same scale the Oberth will be indeed closer to 390m than just 215m.

Do any of you guys know what is the real size? Have there been any "official" stats? Please help me!

By the way, I am new to MW and I hope this topic has not been already discussed do death somewhere, but If so, feel free to remove this post.

So you´d say I should ignore the "comparison" of the ships on the Perfect Memory cover Art?

The ARMD is about 7 cm in length(on the actual cover), so if that is 430m then the Oberth (if 215m long) should be half this size (3,5cm). But on the cover it is 7cm long, just slightly smaller than the ARMD.

I am really confused. As you say, I feel the Oberth should be MUCH smaller than an ARMD Carrier, but - If the comparison is meant to be to scale - it is quite a BIG ship....

Yeah I agree. I guess the smaller length will do for me because it looks more reasonable. I just imagine a VF-1 landing inside the gun barrels of the 390m version-too silly!

But-is the Asuka (you mean the M-0 Carrier)really that small? I mean- today´s carriers are all about 330-340 m long, I really thought the Asuka was even slightly bigger!