Jump to content


Photo

Playstation 3 Thread Round 3


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1465 replies to this topic

#71 yellowlightman

yellowlightman

    not related to mellowlightman

  • Members
  • 3,888 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 September 2008 - 10:37 PM

QUOTE (Keith @ Sep 17 2008, 09:10 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hmm, online multiplayer x-wing/tie fighter game....why hasn't this happened since the old PC game???


Well, there was Battlefront 2.

#72 Chowser

Chowser

    Pineapple Eater

  • Members
  • 1,758 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seven Hills, OH
  • Interests:Stuff

Posted 18 September 2008 - 04:09 AM

not a bad thing for me, I enjoy running around tossing people with the Force smile.gif

I just wish there was an M rating version so when you slice people, they fall apart in pieces. That was always a cool thing in JO2 and JA. I'd always set dismemberment to the highest setting and watch the limbs go flying!

Now I am going to have to go dig up the old games and hope they're Vista compatible. Thanks for reminding me about it!

blink.gif wacko.gif

#73 Duke Togo

Duke Togo

    Perfect Machine of Snipe

  • Members
  • 7,019 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Under your bed
  • Interests:Film, literature, music, baseball

Posted 18 September 2008 - 05:46 AM

I have a friend who is into these sorts of games and he actually went out and got it for his PSP to go along with his 360 copy. He really likes it. Tells me all I need to know. Its like the Dynasty Warrior games, Ace Combat, Armored Core... if this is the kind of game you like, you want more of it, even if it isn't totally different. I want more Jedi Knight, this game seems 100% up my alley.

#74 Scream Man

Scream Man

    SMS Squadron Leader

  • Members
  • 3,807 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia

Posted 18 September 2008 - 02:49 PM

I like Ace Combat too, but then its a different feel to Xwing/TIE which I also loved. One of the first PC games i ever beat, Xwing. In fact the only one i could never do was Xwing Alliance; I NEVER made it into and out of the Death Star, not ONCE!

#75 Warmaker

Warmaker

    Pineapple Eater

  • Members
  • 1,661 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United States

Posted 18 September 2008 - 03:19 PM

QUOTE (Keith @ Sep 17 2008, 11:10 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hmm, online multiplayer x-wing/tie fighter game....why hasn't this happened since the old PC game???

I've been waiting since 1999 for Lucasarts to get someone to bring back the X-Wing series. But ever since Phantom Menace came out, they just didn't want to do any games set in the Original Trilogy. Only recently did they do so.

In '99, they also introduced the Rogue Squadron series of games, but compared to the X-Wing series, it felt like I was being held back and flying a rail shooter.
QUOTE (yellowlightman @ Sep 17 2008, 11:37 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Well, there was Battlefront 2.

SWBF2 just isn't the same. Craft variety isn't there, no system adjustments, overly simplistic. I never was looking for a hardcore sim, but the X-Wing series gave alot of space flying options that later SW fighter games just can't do.

Edited by Warmaker, 18 September 2008 - 03:22 PM.


#76 Uxi

Uxi

    SMS Squadron Leader

  • Members
  • 3,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern California
  • Interests:Macross (7, II, Plus, SDF, DYRL current favs in order)

Posted 18 September 2008 - 05:05 PM

QUOTE (Duke Togo @ Sep 17 2008, 07:01 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
You'll be wanting the Wii version, then. Besides multiplayer, I understand it got some additional single player levels as well.



No HD, no care.


QUOTE (Warmaker @ Sep 18 2008, 04:19 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I've been waiting since 1999 for Lucasarts to get someone to bring back the X-Wing series. But ever since Phantom Menace came out, they just didn't want to do any games set in the Original Trilogy. Only recently did they do so.



I'd have been happy enough with a Naboo starfighter simulator...

But a revisit on XvT is waaaaaaay overdue.

#77 Ghadrack

Ghadrack

    Global's Pipe Holder

  • Members
  • 959 posts

Posted 19 September 2008 - 04:23 AM

QUOTE (Warmaker @ Sep 18 2008, 06:19 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I've been waiting since 1999 for Lucasarts to get someone to bring back the X-Wing series. But ever since Phantom Menace came out, they just didn't want to do any games set in the Original Trilogy. Only recently did they do so.

In '99, they also introduced the Rogue Squadron series of games, but compared to the X-Wing series, it felt like I was being held back and flying a rail shooter.


I agree with you 100%

How great would it be for them to bring out a new X-Wing conbat flight sim game with todays technology. It would probably ruin my life I loved the original games so much I might never be able to stop playing.



#78 eugimon

eugimon

    collect me all

  • Members
  • 13,272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area, California

Posted 19 September 2008 - 09:19 AM

It's just too bad that it seems that in general, the gaming audience has moved away from the more realistic space sims.

#79 Alpha OTS

Alpha OTS

    Global's Pipe Holder

  • Members
  • 933 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Allentown, PA
  • Interests:Movies, science fiction, video games, and stuff.

Posted 20 September 2008 - 09:37 AM

QUOTE (Warmaker @ Sep 18 2008, 07:19 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I've been waiting since 1999 for Lucasarts to get someone to bring back the X-Wing series. But ever since Phantom Menace came out, they just didn't want to do any games set in the Original Trilogy. Only recently did they do so.

In '99, they also introduced the Rogue Squadron series of games, but compared to the X-Wing series, it felt like I was being held back and flying a rail shooter.

SWBF2 just isn't the same. Craft variety isn't there, no system adjustments, overly simplistic. I never was looking for a hardcore sim, but the X-Wing series gave alot of space flying options that later SW fighter games just can't do.

I was dissappointed with SWBF2 for other reasons. They essentially removed the "army" aspect from the game. Before you had the illusion that you were part of a larger force. BF2 with all its "upgrades" and smaller battlefields and troop numbers as a result pretty much excised the "army" from the game. I still much prefer SWBF1, but there's only one or two servers left to play the game on and it runs like crap.

Edit: I just found out that my PS3 will auto-resume a dvd I took out in mid-play even if I've watched a pile of movies since then. Caught me pleasantly by surprise.

Edited by Alpha OTS, 20 September 2008 - 09:39 AM.


#80 Uxi

Uxi

    SMS Squadron Leader

  • Members
  • 3,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern California
  • Interests:Macross (7, II, Plus, SDF, DYRL current favs in order)

Posted 20 September 2008 - 10:03 AM

QUOTE (eugimon @ Sep 19 2008, 10:19 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
It's just too bad that it seems that in general, the gaming audience has moved away from the more realistic space sims.



The whole gaming industry has moved away from Sims. From F-15 to ATF, Aces over the Pacific, Red Baron, etc etc. All that's left now is Microsoft and whatever they're calling Falcon 4.0 these days...

#81 wm cheng

wm cheng

    Alaska Base Survivor

  • Members
  • 2,784 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Canada
  • Interests:All things Macross - especially the mecha.
    All things Sci-Fi
    Aircraft modelling
    Movies

Posted 22 September 2008 - 10:21 AM

QUOTE (David Hingtgen @ Sep 9 2008, 03:40 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Every report I've seen on MW of using mkv2vob has resulted in no subs, but xvid4psp seems to work fine. I'd try xvid4psp---it's what I use for my 360.


Hey David,

I installed XVID4PSP and during the previews at least, none of the subtitles show up - how did you convert MKV WITH subtitles to something the PS3 can play?

Has anyone else gotten the Macross Frontier MKV (with embedded subtitles) to sucessfully convert to something the PS3 can plan in HD?

Thanks,
Wm

#82 MilkManX

MilkManX

    Mars Base Recon

  • Moderator
  • 1,945 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucson AZ USA
  • Interests:Anime and Comic book Art,Karate,Film

Posted 22 September 2008 - 10:35 AM

Just got a PS3.

My PSN ID is ShinMilkManX



#83 bandit29

bandit29

    Spongebob's life partner

  • Members
  • 2,465 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, IL

Posted 22 September 2008 - 11:24 AM

QUOTE (wm cheng @ Sep 22 2008, 01:21 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hey David,

I installed XVID4PSP and during the previews at least, none of the subtitles show up - how did you convert MKV WITH subtitles to something the PS3 can play?

Has anyone else gotten the Macross Frontier MKV (with embedded subtitles) to sucessfully convert to something the PS3 can plan in HD?

Thanks,
Wm



I've converted MKV files with subs using mkv2vob. Usually I just convert them to mpeg2. The subs will be burned in though.


Saw this at animeondvd, anime at the PSN store in Japan WTF!!!

QUOTE
Arc the Lad
Full Metal Alchemist
Blood+
Persona-trinity soul
Popolocrolis Stories
Wild Arms TV

From Bandai Channel:
Gunparade Orchestra,
Gunparade March,
Mobile Suit Gundam Char's Counterattack,
Gundam Seed OVA,
Gundam Seed Destiny OVA,
Gundam 00,
Z Gundam (various, not sure exactly which movies, etc... not the Tv series though I don't think),
Mars Daybreak,
Eureka Seven,
Sakura Wars OVA,
Sakura Wars 2 OVA,
Mai Otome Hime,
Mai Otome Hime Zwei,
Disgaea,
Macross Zero,
Macross F
Super Dimensional Fortress MAcross,
SDF Macross Do you remember love?,
SDF MAcross II Lovers Again,
Macross 7,
Macross Plus,
Macross 7 the Movie "The Galaxy's calling me!",
Macross Plus "The movie Edition",
Macross Dynamite 7


http://animeanime.jp...8/_924_ps3.html

http://www.mania.com...ead.php?t=85504

Edited by dejr8bud, 22 September 2008 - 11:55 AM.


#84 taksraven

taksraven

    SMS Squadron Leader

  • Members
  • 4,626 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:...behind the Great Australian Firewall, eventually...
  • Interests:Chainsawing the legs off elephants.....

Posted 23 September 2008 - 10:20 PM

QUOTE (Gaijin @ Sep 3 2008, 01:18 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Got invited to the Home Beta. It's pretty cool, and I can see it being a great place to find NEW people(not on your friends list) to play games. I opnly spent around an hour with it so far, but it does have a lot of potential for those who like that sorta thing. Best of all would be clan and guild type meetings to discuss things such as has been discussed before. One thing....a lot of the things your avatar can do are...gay. Anyone who sees the bow and spin will surely laugh. Then bust out a robot dance with a bubble machine and get weird looks.


On another note, I saw the Greatest Hits of Resistance and Assassins Creed in Wally world today. The AC had the red box (it's not translucent like the HD DVD ones..it's a solid dark red) but the resistance ones had just a new slip cover with the red at the top. Not sure which looked better.


WHY, OH WHY, is there a big whoopty doo about Sony releasing a games console with a 160 gb hard drive. In SEPTEMBER 2008, fer christsake.

Why don't they put bigger drives in their machines, especially since 1tb is now the new 1gb????

Some might say it would put the costs up, but we are talking about SONY here, not some little tinpot manufacturer.

Taksraven


#85 eugimon

eugimon

    collect me all

  • Members
  • 13,272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area, California

Posted 23 September 2008 - 10:35 PM

QUOTE (taksraven @ Sep 23 2008, 11:20 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
WHY, OH WHY, is there a big whoopty doo about Sony releasing a games console with a 160 gb hard drive. In SEPTEMBER 2008, fer christsake.

Why don't they put bigger drives in their machines, especially since 1tb is now the new 1gb????

Some might say it would put the costs up, but we are talking about SONY here, not some little tinpot manufacturer.

Taksraven


because PS3 cost too much as it is, Sony is losing money off of each one sold, adding an extra 200 dollars to them to fit them with the latest, high capacity drive would break the bank and most people wouldn't ever care.

Edited by eugimon, 23 September 2008 - 10:38 PM.


#86 yellowlightman

yellowlightman

    not related to mellowlightman

  • Members
  • 3,888 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 September 2008 - 10:44 PM

Not to mention it isn't too difficult to swap in a bigger hard drive.

#87 Gaijin

Gaijin

    I like Hot Dogs!

  • Members
  • 3,264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hawaii
  • Interests:Many...too many to list.

Posted 23 September 2008 - 10:49 PM

QUOTE (taksraven @ Sep 23 2008, 08:20 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
WHY, OH WHY, is there a big whoopty doo about Sony releasing a games console with a 160 gb hard drive. In SEPTEMBER 2008, fer christsake.

Why don't they put bigger drives in their machines, especially since 1tb is now the new 1gb????

Some might say it would put the costs up, but we are talking about SONY here, not some little tinpot manufacturer.

Taksraven



I'm presuming your post is a joke because....

1. I don't recall myself mentioning anything praising the 160GB drive.

2. I don't recall myself mentioning anything praising the 160GB drive.

3. I don't recall myself mentioning anything praising the 160GB drive.

4. Yes, it would be expensive, even for SONY. But as mentioned, it's a simple swap....

Why don't they put 1TB drives in every DVR, Tivo, laptop, and home PC, Mac,, and PS3 and 360 for that matter..why stop there? laugh.gif

I still don't get the joke, pun, or anything because there isn't a reference to the PS3's HDD....is this some Australian humor that I've missed?

Edited by Gaijin, 23 September 2008 - 10:57 PM.


#88 mikeszekely

mikeszekely

    Galactic Diva

  • Members
  • 6,370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 September 2008 - 07:14 AM

QUOTE (taksraven @ Sep 24 2008, 02:20 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
WHY, OH WHY, is there a big whoopty doo about Sony releasing a games console with a 160 gb hard drive. In SEPTEMBER 2008, fer christsake.

Why don't they put bigger drives in their machines, especially since 1tb is now the new 1gb????

Some might say it would put the costs up, but we are talking about SONY here, not some little tinpot manufacturer.

Taksraven

Well, for one thing, the PS3 uses 2.5" drives, not the 3.5" drives used by desktop computers. 2.5" drives don't come in 1TB (yet). I think they just hit 500GB.

#89 Uxi

Uxi

    SMS Squadron Leader

  • Members
  • 3,690 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern California
  • Interests:Macross (7, II, Plus, SDF, DYRL current favs in order)

Posted 24 September 2008 - 04:54 PM

Yup. I just put a 320GB thanks to the $98 WD Scorpio on sale at Frys this last weekend. 290GB free. :w00t:

I retired the 160GB I had in there to backup duty.

#90 F360

F360

    ARMD Deck Swabber

  • Members
  • 84 posts
  • Location:SF

Posted 24 September 2008 - 05:26 PM

Buy Three Warner Blu-ray Discs, Get a PS3 Remote Free
Free Ps3 remote

Amazon up to 55% Off Blu-ray Sale
List of Blu-ray on sale



#91 Valkyrie Nut

Valkyrie Nut

    Skull Leader's Lackey

  • Members
  • 413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:anime, games, music, films, travelling & having fun!

Posted 25 September 2008 - 10:01 AM

Regarding installing a larger hard drive, what's the best way from transfering files from one drive to the other? Also, is it an IDE or SATA drive that the ps3 uses?

Edited by Valkyrie Nut, 25 September 2008 - 10:05 AM.


#92 mikeszekely

mikeszekely

    Galactic Diva

  • Members
  • 6,370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 September 2008 - 12:03 PM

QUOTE (Valkyrie Nut @ Sep 25 2008, 02:01 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Regarding installing a larger hard drive, what's the best way from transfering files from one drive to the other? Also, is it an IDE or SATA drive that the ps3 uses?

2.5" SATA, like the kind that goes in a laptop.

The best way to back up the old one, AFAIK, is to connect a portable USB hard drive, and run the PS3's backup utility.

#93 eugimon

eugimon

    collect me all

  • Members
  • 13,272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area, California

Posted 25 September 2008 - 12:25 PM

WipEout HD is out.

#94 kaiotheforsaken

kaiotheforsaken

    Bridge Bunny

  • Members
  • 1,322 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Anaheim, CA

Posted 25 September 2008 - 01:09 PM

QUOTE (eugimon @ Sep 25 2008, 01:25 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
WipEout HD is out.



I've been waiting for this sucker for sometime. I'll probably snag it when I turn the ps3 on later. The reviews have been glowing for it so far.

#95 mikeszekely

mikeszekely

    Galactic Diva

  • Members
  • 6,370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 September 2008 - 02:17 PM

QUOTE (eugimon @ Sep 25 2008, 04:25 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
WipEout HD is out.

Currently downloading it and Megaman 9.

#96 David Hingtgen

David Hingtgen

    Powerless Mod

  • Moderator
  • 14,682 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa
  • Interests:Airplanes (especially airliners), trains, warships.

Posted 25 September 2008 - 02:30 PM

Ok, I'm thinking I may be mis-remembering how I converted. I think I *did* have the separate .ass files for the MKV's, and the MKV's alone won't work. It's kind of redundant to have the MKV (which has the .ass embedded inside) and the original .ass the MKV was made from, but it does seem to be required.

#97 Valkyrie Nut

Valkyrie Nut

    Skull Leader's Lackey

  • Members
  • 413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England
  • Interests:anime, games, music, films, travelling & having fun!

Posted 25 September 2008 - 04:23 PM

QUOTE (mikeszekely @ Sep 25 2008, 09:03 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
2.5" SATA, like the kind that goes in a laptop.

The best way to back up the old one, AFAIK, is to connect a portable USB hard drive, and run the PS3's backup utility.


Thanks, looks like I'll need to borrow or buy another portable drive. I'm assuming any will do as long as it's not pre-formatted?

Edited by Valkyrie Nut, 25 September 2008 - 04:24 PM.


#98 mikeszekely

mikeszekely

    Galactic Diva

  • Members
  • 6,370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 September 2008 - 04:32 PM

QUOTE (Valkyrie Nut @ Sep 25 2008, 08:23 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Thanks, looks like I'll need to borrow or buy another portable drive. I'm assuming any will do as long as it's not pre-formatted?

I'm not sure. I mean, yeah, any drive will do. I think the PS3 can reformat the drive itself, though. The drive should be FAT32 for the PS3; there's issues with FAT where a partition can only be a certain size, so depending on the drive you get/borrow, you might want to partition it with a computer.

#99 eugimon

eugimon

    collect me all

  • Members
  • 13,272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area, California

Posted 25 September 2008 - 05:19 PM

got a few races in on wipeoutHD... it rocks
Looks great, plays and sounds great. It is more of the same, so if you have the 2 PSP games, it's not anything terribly new, the tracks and skins are recycled.

Online is fast and for me at least, lag free.

If you like the series, this is an easy buy and lots of fun

#100 mikeszekely

mikeszekely

    Galactic Diva

  • Members
  • 6,370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 September 2008 - 07:15 PM

QUOTE (eugimon @ Sep 25 2008, 09:19 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
got a few races in on wipeoutHD... it rocks
Looks great, plays and sounds great. It is more of the same, so if you have the 2 PSP games, it's not anything terribly new, the tracks and skins are recycled.

Online is fast and for me at least, lag free.

If you like the series, this is an easy buy and lots of fun

Did it take you long to download? I started it around 6:00, and it wasn't done until almost 9:00.

Anyway, I also only did a few races. It reminds me more of Pulse than Pure, but they're both fantastic games, so I can't complain, but as a long-time fan of the series, I do wish there would have been some tracks from WipEout XL and Wip3out.

#101 eugimon

eugimon

    collect me all

  • Members
  • 13,272 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bay Area, California

Posted 25 September 2008 - 07:30 PM

It took like 30 mins or, but I d/l not long after the N.American PSN update happened. i'm sure the servers are getting hammered.

#102 bandit29

bandit29

    Spongebob's life partner

  • Members
  • 2,465 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago, IL

Posted 26 September 2008 - 09:13 AM

40GB PS3 dropping to 359.99 this weekend...supposedly at Blockbuster.. I didn't even know they sold them..

http://kotaku.com/50...el-this-weekend

make that 359.99

Edited by dejr8bud, 26 September 2008 - 12:36 PM.


#103 MilkManX

MilkManX

    Mars Base Recon

  • Moderator
  • 1,945 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucson AZ USA
  • Interests:Anime and Comic book Art,Karate,Film

Posted 26 September 2008 - 09:53 AM

Yeah my Wipeout took about 3 hours to DL but it is so awesome!

Best one since XL I think.

Cya guys online!

#104 mikeszekely

mikeszekely

    Galactic Diva

  • Members
  • 6,370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 September 2008 - 10:25 AM

QUOTE (dejr8bud @ Sep 26 2008, 01:13 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
40GB PS3 dropping to 299.99 this weekend...supposedly at Blockbuster.. I didn't even know they sold them..

http://kotaku.com/50...el-this-weekend

I'm not sure what New PRP is, but the new retail price is actually going to be $359.99.

#105 mikeszekely

mikeszekely

    Galactic Diva

  • Members
  • 6,370 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 September 2008 - 10:29 AM

QUOTE (MilkManX @ Sep 26 2008, 01:53 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Cya guys online!

Yeah you will. I just sent you an invite.

eugimon, what's you're PSN ID? I have a couple of people on my Friends list, and I think about half of them are from MW, but I'm not sure who's who.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users