Display Comparisons

Sarge73

I am not by any means a collector but I have a Masterpiece Rick Hunter VF-1J on display among the many nostalgia pieces in my office. I bought it at the time because I liked the presentation better than the Yamato 'Jetfire' style toys in detailing. Well honestly I was a sucker for the pilot and missles in fighter mode.

Now I see a very nice looking VF-0S from Yamato and while I know it is not a classic Veritech it looks beautiful in online pictures. So I have been pondering swapping that out. Is there a good comparison topic/website matching these two as display pieces? Or is there another piece of comparable size that I am missing that has merit?

My concerns from the Masterpiece that would carry over to another purchase would be:

1: Flimsy jints in fighter mode.

2: Yellowing even though it has never seent he sun.

3: Too many decal apps on a small model.

I did look through some FAQs before posting and didn't find anything, but if I missed it the obligatory 'look here newb' will be appreciated just as much as an answer.

look here noob! j/k

seriously, theres no way to make a fair comparison between the 1/55 MPC(master piece collection) VF-1J hikaru(rick hunter), to the 1/60 VF-0S. its like comparing roseanne barr to jessica alba....they're not even in the same league. the VF-0S is better in terms of....well everything you can imagine.

check this recent thread for more info....

http://www.macrossworld.com/mwf/index.php?showtopic=20396

or check out the link to anymoon.com in that thread, jenius has reviews and pics for just about everything macross/robotech.

LOL, everything except the 0S & 0A!!! Sorry, I haven't gotten around to those yet. I'm waiting on a reissue of the 0S because the first one apparently had some QC issues (although, even with those QC issues I'd wager it'd blow the Toynami out of the water... and I'm one of the people less hateful toward Toynami in these parts).