1/60 Yamato Regult H.D.P. Material Questions

OmegaD3k

Hi everyone,

Most of the kits I’ve built in the past were injection kits, and since I have no experience with Heavy Duty Polyurethane (HDP), I got a few questions regarding this kind of material:

The plastic pieces have a soft surface, with almost a powder-like look and feel to it. At first I thought the pieces were actually covered in some kind of material since they reacted/got darker to moisture or water (I could see my finger-prints, and other smudges), but they reverted back to their powder-like look and lighter grey tones after a few seconds.

1.) Will this powder-like material affect which type of paints I use?

2.) Can I use (Tamiya) Acrylic spray paints for HDP (I’ll use Tamiya White Surface Primer first)?

3.) Is it advisable to rinse/wash all pieces with water first, before working with them?

4.) Would normal plastic model kit cement/glue work with HDP, or should I use super-glue?

5.) Is there anything else to know about working with HDP?

Thanks in advance for any advice! :D I’ve been looking for 1/60 Regult topics, but couldn’t find any which covered this topic. >.<

post-4879-0-10569200-1326751000_thumb.jpg

Edited by OmegaD3k

I have this kit, and by the feel of it, it has almost the exact same feel as bondo, which accepts paint very well. That "soaking" aspect of this material makes it great for absorbing the paint, and on a micro level, will probably cure some of it slighly lower than the exterior most material. This should help it to bond better than straight ABS plastic, from the look and feel of it.