Hello everybody,

This is my first thread, but I have a question that I feel only my fellow Macross fans could help to answer.

I am an amateur 3D artist and as a hobby, I enjoy modeling Valkyries. I just started a new model of a VF-11 Thunderbolt. I want to make it as close to the line art as possible while still being able to transform it from fighter to battroid. For reference, I have Yamato's VF-11B and Hasegawa's injection kits. They look good and will work great, but I noticed when I started measuring them that the proportions don't match the specs given in all the documentation of the VF-11 series.

Macross Chronicle and the Macross Mecha Manual say the VF-11 is 15.51 meters long with a wingspan of 11.2 meters. When I measure the artwork from the Hasegawa instruction sheet and scale it up (assuming a length of 15.51 meters), I get a wingspan of 14.37 meters. The Macross Mecha Manual line art gave me a wingspan of 13.23 meters. I have yet to measure the Yamato toy, but just eyeballing it, I can tell it has an incredibly wide wingspan.

post-7926-0-38349800-1418234694_thumb.jpg

post-7926-0-75224100-1418234713_thumb.jpg

So my questions are:

1) Is the Macross Chronicle wingspan correct, or is it a known inaccuracy?

2) If it is correct, is it with the wings fully extended?

3) Is there an accurate portrayal of 15.51 x 11.2 dimensions anywhere, either in a kit, toy, or line art?

4) Did Yamato and Hasegawa make the wings too wide, or did they shorten the body?

5) Should I just ignore the specs and go with the Yamato or Hasegawa proportions?

6) Can anyone recommend an alternate resource for VF-11 schematics?

My temptation is to go with the Yamato, since it compromises nicely for transformation, while maybe scaling down the width of the wings closer to the line art. Thoughts?

Edited by NekkiBasara